The bioMerieux ASM Identifying Resistance Award

This award, sponsored by bioMerieux, is given to an individual on the basis of career achievements in the field of the identification of bacterial resistance to antimicrobials in a clinical setting.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be a member of the ASM of twelve (12) months standing at the time of application

Application Requirements

Applications must include:

  • a curriculum vitae (including a list of publications)
  • the names and addresses (including email addresses) of two (2) referees
  • a brief summary of the applicants contribution to the study of bacterial resistance to antimicrobials in a clinical setting

Conditions of Award

Winner to present in an appropriate symposium at the ASM Annual Scientific Meeting.


The award consists of:

  • a plaque given at the ASM Awards Ceremony at the Annual Scientific Meeting
  • a $1,000 cash prize
  • full ASM Annual Scientific Meeting registration
  • return economy flights
  • up to 3 nights accommodation
  • 20 minutes speaking slot (including questions) at the current year's Annual Scientific Meeting


The award committee will take into account the quality and originality of the published research and service to Australian microbiology in general. The award is based on the applicant's entire career rather than on a single achievement.

The award committee will consist of the Executive Committee, Convenor of the Antimicrobials Special Interest Group and one (1) other nominee of the Antimicrobials Special Interest Group.

Application Process

Download an application form here

Applications should be sent to the National Office Manager (

Closing date for applications: March 31st of any year

Acknowledgement: An acknowledgement will be emailed within 5 business days of receiving your application - if this has not been received, please contact the ASM National Office - Tel: 1300 656 423.

Previous Award Winners

John Merlino, NSW

Anton Peleg, VIC

David Whiley

Denis Spelman

Iain Gosbell

Timothy Walsh

Jon Iredell

Sydney Bell

Clarence Fernandes

Jan Bell

Ruth Hall