ASM Fellowship

Fellowship (FASM)

Fellows of the Society are those microbiologists who, through a process of peer assessment, are determined to be either specialists in their field, or scientists who have made a significant contribution to the profession.

Fellowship is the higher qualification of the ASM which is granted by the Council on the recommendation of the National Examinations Board. Please download information on the examination process below:

Download Fellowship Road Map
Download Fellowship Examination Information

Click here to apply for FASM

 ASM's Fellows

A/Prof John Aaskov Queensland University Of Technology
Prof Ben Adler Monash University
A/Prof John Andrew Healthscope Pathology
Dr Paul Badenoch Flinders Medical Centre
Prof Ross Barnard University of Queensland
Prof Mary Barton University Of South Australia
Dr Ifor Beacham Griffith University 
Prof Sydney Bell University of New South Wales
Dr Stuart Blacksell Mahidol-Oxford Tropical Medicine Unit 
Mr Rodney Bowman PathWest, QEIIMC
Dr Richard Bradbury Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Prof Melissa Brown Flinders University
Mr Shane Byrne Sullivan & Nicolaides Pathology
Mr Michael Caffery Nambour General Hospital
Prof Ricardo Cavicchioli University Of New South Wales
Prof Barbara Chang University of WA
Peter Collignon Canberra Hospital
Professor Peter Coloe RMIT University
Professor Ross Coppel Monash University
Professor Alan Cowman Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
Prof Allan Cripps Griffith University
Prof Anthony Cunningham Westmead Millennium Institute
Dr Andrew Daley Royal Children's Hospital
Prof Michael Day University Of Bristol
Prof Margaret Deighton RMIT University now retired
Dr Antony Della-Porta Bio2ic
Dr Patricia Desmarchelier Food Safety Principles 
Dr Trevor Ellis  
Dr David Figdor Prime Endodontics
Prof John Finlay-Jones John Finlay-Jones
Dr Ross Forgan-Smith  
Prof Ian Frazer Translational Research Institute
Prof Robin Gasser University of Melbourne
Dr Steven Giglio Clinpath
Ms Gena Gonis Royal Children's Hospital 
Prof Michael Good Griffith University
Prof David Gordon Flinders Medical Centre -SA Pathology
Prof Iain Gosbell Sydney South West Pathology Service
Mr Terry Grimmond Grimmond & Associates Ltd
Prof Warren Grubb Curtin University Of Technology
Prof Louise Hafner Queensland University Of Technology
Prof Ruth Hall University Of Sydney
Dr Katherine Hammer University Of Western Australia
Prof Jock Harkness St Vincents Hospital
Prof Elizabeth Hartland University of Melbourne
Dr Flavia Huygens Queensland University Of Technology
Prof Elena Ivanova Swinburne University Of Technology 
Prof Michael Jennings Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University
Mr Ian Jenson Meat & Livestock Australia
A/Prof Allison Jilbert University Of Adelaide
Dr Charlene Kahler University Of Western Australia
Dr Ulrike Kappler The University of Queensland
Dr Stephen Kidd University Of Adelaide
Dr Peter Kirkland Elizabeth Macarthur Agriculture Institute
Dr Carl Kirkwood Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
Professor Victoria Korolik Griffith University
A/Prof Ruiting Lan University Of New South Wales
Mr Martin Laxton St Vincents Hospital 
Dr Pak Leong Lim IgGene Limited 
A/Prof Dena Lyras Monash University
Dr. Ian Mackay Public & Environmental Health|Virology
Prof John Mackenzie Curtin University
Prof Ian Macreadie RMIT University
A/Prof Matthias Maiwald KK Women's And Children's Hospital
Prof Johnson Mak Deakin University, CSIRO AAHL
Dr Richard Malik University Of Sydney
Prof Paul Manning   
Dr Joseph McCormack Mater Misericordiae Hospital 
A/Prof Christopher McIver St George Hospital (Public)
Prof Peter McMinn Sydney Medical School
Dr John Merlino Concord Repatriation General Hospital
Mr Chinmoy Mukerjee South Eastern Area Laboratory Services (SEALS)
Prof Graeme Nimmo Pathology Queensland
Prof James Paton University of Adelaide
Dr Matthew Payne University of Western Australia
Dr John Pemberton University Of Queensland
Dr Nevada Pingault Department Of Health WA
Associate Professor Adam Polkinghorne University of the Sunshine Coast
Prof William Rawlinson Prince of Wales Hospital, Virology Division,
Prof Thomas Riley University Of Western Australia
Professor Roy Robins-Browne University of Melbourne
Dr Paul Roffey Australian Federal Police 
Prof Julian Rood Monash University
Prof Mark Schembri University of Queensland
Dr Kate Seib Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University
Professor Warren Shipton Asia-Pacific International University, Thailand
Dr Gavin Smith Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School 
Clin Prof David Smith Pathwest Laboratory Medicine WA
Ms Elizabeth Snashall Dorevitch Pathology (retired)
Dr Peter Speck Flinders University
Dr Yogitha Srikhanta Monash University
Prof Richard Strugnell University of Melbourne
Professor Sepehr Tabrizi Royal Women's Hospital
Professor Gilda Tachedjian Burnet Institute
Ms Evanthia Tambosis Concord Hospital 
Emeritus Professor Gregory Tannock Burnet Institute
Prof Andrew Taylor-Robinson Central Queensland University
Assoc Prof Jan Tennent Biomedical Research Victoria
Dr Carol Thompson  
Prof Peter Timms University of the Sunshine Coast
Prof John Turnidge Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health care
Professor Glen Ulett Griffith University
Dr Thiru Vanniasinkam Charles Sturt University 
Dr Kerry Varettas South Eastern Area Laboratory Services
A/Prof Naresh Verma Australian National University
Prof Mark Walker University of Queensland
Dr Karena Waller University Of Melbourne
Prof Linfa Wang Duke-NUS Medical School
A/Prof David Whiley Pathology Queensland & The University of Queensland
Prof Peter White University of New South Wales
Prof Mark Willcox Univeristy Of New South Wales
Prof Paul Young University of Queensland