The purpose of this award is to recognise distinguished contributions in any area of Australian research in microbiology by scientists in early stages of their career. Two awards will be given each year.

The recipients of the Jim Pittard Early Career Awards are expected to present 15 minutes presentations at the current year’s Annual Scientific Meeting. They will also each receive a plaque given at the meeting’s award ceremony, $1000 prize money, a full conference registration to the Annual Scientific Meeting and up to 3 nights accommodation.

+ Eligibility Requirements

Essential criteria:

  • have been a member of the society in any category for at least two years and must currently be a MASM.
  • have been engaged in research at postdoctoral level or equivalent for less than or equal to five years or the equivalent of less than or equal to five years of full-time research since acquiring their postdoctoral degree in cases of significant career interruption on the closing date of the year of application.

Desirable criteria:

  • Demonstrated active participation in ASM affairs at National or local branch level (including as a student member) or in promoting the interests of the Society to the Australian or international community.

+ Application Requirements

Applications must include:

  • a curriculum vitae (including a list of publications)
  • a one page summary of contribution to research in Microbiology
  • a brief statement addressing the essential and desirable selection criteria
  • the names and addresses (including email addresses) of two (2) referees

+ Conditions of Award

Applicants need to show that their area of research excellence was work done substantially in Australia or, for those applicants recently returned from overseas, is ongoing work in Australia that will enhance the nation's international reputation in microbiology. The recipients are required to present the Pittard Lectures at the ASM Annual Scientific Meeting.

+ Award Review Committee

The award committee will consist of the ASM President, Immediate Past President, President Elect, NSAC Chair and Scientific Advisors.






Chris Greening & Mohammad Hamidian

Sam Manna

Si Ming Man & Johanna Kenyon

Jaclyn Pearson