Welcome to the ASM

The ASM is a not-for-profit organisation, formed in 1959 as a learned society devoted to furthering the science of microbiology. The ASM became an incorporated professional society in 1976.

Notice of Extraordinary General Meeting

Dear Members,

This is to announce an Extraordinary General Meeting of the Australian Society for Microbiology, to be held during the BacPath 2015 conference on Monday 28th September at 9:30pm, Silverwater Resort, Phillip Island, and to be chaired in my absence by the Vice President, Scientific Affairs, Professor Dena Lyras, to specifically consider three issues:

-That the beginning of the membership year of the Australian Society of Microbiology be changed with a short year in 2016 (fees adjusted down pro rata).

-That the Divisions and Divisional Chairs of the Australian Society for Microbiology (the Society) be formally recognised.

-That the Vice-President, Communications, be incorporated as a voting member of the Council of the Society and of the national executive, effective immediately.

The EGM is an efficient way to put these changes in time for February Council, all of them having been previously discussed as early as 2012 and all except the fee timing having been informally put in place already. Members may vote by proxy as usual.

Any major constitutional changes will be put to the membership at the AGMs in the annual scientific meetings.

Please consider this to be formal notice of motion at the EGM is, as shown in these documents (click here)

Prof Jon Iredell
The Australian Society for Microbiology


Notification to Members of Inactive SIG Termination

The July 2015 ASM Council meeting determined that they will be considering the termination of the SIGS which have been inactive for two or more years at the next Council Meeting in February 2016. These include at present:

-          Ocular Microbiology

-          AQUASIG (Water Microbiology)

-          Probiotic and Enteric Microbial Diversity

These SIGs represent important areas in Microbiology but without ASM member representations as set out in the governing rules of our constitution will lose protections from financial and other liabilities that come in association with an incorporated society.

Please note that Council will consider the establishment of a new SIG upon receipt of a formal submission signed by ten members of the Society of any class except Sustaining Member.  Please consider nominating a new SIG if you believe there is sufficient support from the membership to generate activity. Note also that a SIG chair must be a full member of ASM (i.e. not an Associate).

A reminder that all current SIGs need to submit an annual report of the activities of the Group suitable for publication in Microbiology Australia, minutes of their AGM together with the financial statement not less than six weeks following the AGM of the SIG, and reports to the February and July Council Meetings.  Failure to provide an annual report within any 16 month period shall be grounds for the Council to consider termination of the SIG.

ASM Annual Meeting 2016


Convenor: Charlene Kahler
Scientific Program Chair: Megan Lloyd
Division 1: Tim Inglis
Division 2: Allison Imrie
Division 3: Christopher Peacock
Division 4: Harry Sakellaris

Click here to download the conference flyer